quick hot chocolate

hot chocolate

This recipe is not to be confused with my hot cocoa recipe. That one uses cocoa and is a mix, this one uses chocolate and is ready to serve when made. I’ve had this recipe for almost 20 years and I have no idea who gave it to me. But I thank them greatly for passing it on to me all those years ago, since it’s so easy and so good!

The word “quick” in the title is the key here. Cold day? Need a hot drink? Craving chocolate in a warm, drinkable way? Kids home from school on a blustery day and need to be warmed up quickly? This is the recipe for you!

I don’t have a photo of a cup of this warm chocolately goodness, because just as quick as it is to make it, it disappears. Sorry about that.

Oh, and please note, do not over-do the blender part of this process, and be careful not to use your blender’s most powerful setting. I usually use the LOW/STIR setting on my blender. But today, well, I made that mistake I just warned you about. I hit the wrong button — MAX/ICE CRUSH — and it took me a couple seconds to switch it off (since it was shooting all up in my face). Hot chocolate over my counter, in my recipe book, on the floor, down the cabinet, on my clothes … EVERYWHERE.

***

Quick Hot Chocolate

3 cups hot milk (heat on the stove-top or in a microwave … whichever you prefer)

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Whipped cream or marshmallows, optional

~

In the blender, blend the chocolate chips with 1/2 cup of the hot milk and sugar for 5 seconds on LOW.

Add remaining milk, and vanilla.

Blend on LOW for another 5 seconds.

Pour into mugs.

Top with whipped cream or marshmallows, if desired.

Makes 3 cups of hot chocolate.

Leave a Reply

