barbecue chicken pizza

BBQ chicken pizza slice

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

When your husband grills ALL THE CHICKEN when you instructed him to only grill half of it, and then covers ALL OF IT in spicy barbecue sauce that your kids won’t eat, you make many meals which include barbecue chicken for you and your crazy husband.

Normally barbecue chicken is a big hit in this family. Normally I follow my own recipe very well. This time I goofed and instead of using 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, I used 1 1/2 teaspoons cayenne pepper. Wow. 1 1/2 teaspoons cayenne pepper. That’s all I need to say.

I attempted to fix it a bit by adding more honey and adjusted other ingredients, but since the sauce had simmered so long (I realized my mistake when I did a taste test after it had cooked), that cayenne flavor was not going anywhere. Husband didn’t mind one bit, since his spice tolerance levels are much higher than mine.  For me and the kids, well, it was just too spicy.

So, what do you do with twice as much barbecue chicken than you need, and all of it way too spicy to feed to the mild barbecue loving children? First husband ate it lathered with tons of extra sauce (as I said, he loves spicy) and I had a piece with just a small layer of sauce (and a beer… that helped cut the spice).  Then husband had more for lunch the next day, and the next as well. But then we had to use it all up, so barbecue chicken pizza was the answer!

It was the night before school started, and our last night at the community pool, therefore I didn’t have time to make homemade pizza dough. I sent my husband to the local pizza restaurant and they sold us pizza dough. Not sure if all pizzerias do this, but I’m glad our does (if you ask nicely and go straight to the manager).

This pizza is so good … even with the spicy sauce! I could eat it every night. Yum!

~~~

Barbecue Chicken Pizza

Roll out pizza dough.

Spread a layer of barbecue sauce (homemade or your favorite bottled variety) onto the dough.

BBQ chicken pizza sauce

Chop one cooked chicken breast (this had been grilled, then slathered with the homemade barbecue sauce) and distribute the pieces on the sauce.

BBQ chicken pizza onions and chicken

BBQ chicken pizza sauce and chicken

Toss on some chopped red onion (or scallions).

Finish it off with a handful of shredded Colby Jack cheese (Monterey Jack cheese alone is awesome too).

BBQ chicken pizza cheese

BBQ chicken pizza cheese and onion

Bake at 425F for about 10 -12 minutes.

BBQ chicken pizza hot out of oven

Enjoy!

2 responses to “barbecue chicken pizza

Leave a Reply

