guacamole

guacomole batch 2

Last month I spent a week with family and we all took turns cooking and shared most of our meals together. On the first night one of my sisters made guacamole and everyone loved it. Normally I stay away from guacamole, because of having it once — years ago — and it was as bland as bland could be. Due to that experience, over the years I never had any desire to try it again, even with everyone telling me it’s delicious. This time I couldn’t stay away while watching my whole family fight over the bowl and eat the entire thing in seconds. Could it be that good? Really?

Yes. Yes it was!

I know there are many ways to make guacamole, and I’m sure they’re all terrific, but this is the one I put together after watching my sister make her version. I didn’t write down the quantities or exact directions at the time, but after making it at home since then, I’m happy with this combination.  (Note: My sister includes a finely chopped jalapeno in her version, but I did not add this to the guacamole I made.)

Due to this recipe and my recent lime marinade for chicken, I’m calling this the summer of the limes! I think next week I’ll make both the lime chicken and this guacamole on the same night. Top it off with a gin and tonic (extra lime) and it will be a delicious summer meal!

~~~

Guacamole

4 ripe avocados, pitted and fork-mashed

juice of 2 limes

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 of a red onion, finely chopped

handful of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

lots and lots of garlic, sprinkled with salt and smashed and mashed until it forms a paste

~

Mix all together in a large bowl. Serve with hearty tortilla chips for dipping.

guacomole (1)

on a chip

guacomole (2)

3 responses to “guacamole

Leave a Reply

