gingersnaps

gingersnaps

Okay, here’s a fact: I could give up sugar cookies and chocolate chip cookies, and any other cookie, but not gingersnaps. I’m sure no one has ever asked me this question, but if they did, gingersnaps would be the one cookie I took with me to a deserted island, if I could only pick one kind. They are that good.

Yet, I forget about them. During the Christmas season I make them and enjoy them, but then the holidays come and go and spring arrives and I don’t make them again for months and months. Why? I have no idea.

It is now Christmastime, and today was a “make cookies” day and I made both butter cookies and these gingersnaps. I am a happy girl right now, with two containers of yummy cookies to enjoy with my evening cup of tea.

*Note: I’ve had this recipe for at least a decade, possibly two, and have no idea where it originated from.

##########

Gingersnaps

1 1/2 sticks butter, softened *NOT melted*

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup molasses

1/4 cup sugar (for rolling the cookies into)

~

Beat butter and 1 cup sugar until light and fluffy; about 2 minutes.

butter and sugar

Add egg; beat until well blended.

In a bowl, combine flour, ginger, cinnamon and baking soda.

dry ingredients

stir ingredients

Add half the flour mixture to the butter mixture.

Mix on low until blended.

4 mix half dry ingredients

Add molasses.

Mix on low until blended.

add moleasses

Add remaining flour mixture and continue to mix on low speed until combined.

Place dough in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap.

ready to chill

Refrigerate dough for at least an hour.

~

Heat oven to  375F.

With lightly floured hands, roll dough into 1-inch balls (or smaller).

*Note: As of 2013 I’ve started to make these much smaller — using a 1-teaspoon measuring spoon to measure out the dough. This makes nice small cookies … and lots of them! Great for giving as gifts. Since they’re bite-sized, there isn’t as much guilt when eating cookie after cookie. When making them this smaller size, cook for only 8 minutes. 

Roll each ball in the 1/4 cup sugar.

Place balls 2-inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets or cookie sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until golden brown and when the cookies have cracked tops.

Allow cookies to rest on cookie sheets for 1 minute, then transfer to cooling racks.

Store in airtight containers.

out of oven

 

ginger cookies 2013

One response to “gingersnaps

Leave a Reply

