cream cheese frosting

cream cheese frosting (4)

Last month we celebrated my oldest son’s birthday, and his cake request was brownie ice cream cake. Today we’re celebrating my daughter’s birthday, and she requested chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting. (*Note: I “cheated” this time and used a box chocolate cake mix. This is very unlike me, but I was short on time.) Next month will be my youngest son’s cake of choice (I’m guessing he’ll pick something chocolate). And I wonder why I have such a hard time losing weight during the winter months.

Now, I have many recipes for frosting, but I do not have a cream cheese frosting recipe. Until now. I did a bit of online searching and found a couple recipes. Many called for 8 ounces of cream cheese. Others for twice that. Since I had only 8 ounces of cream cheese in the refrigerator, I decided that would be the recipe to try. But the amounts of powdered sugar varied in each of the recipes. Taking what I know about frosting, and knowing what my daughter desired (fluffy frosting), the recipe below is what I ended up with. It’s based on a dozen recipes online, but not exactly like any one of them that I found.

##########

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 stick butter (1/2 cup), room temperature

8 ounces Philadelphia cream cheese, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 – 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

~

In mixer, beat together the butter and cream cheese until smooth and creamy, at least 2 minutes.

cream cheese frosting (1)

Add the vanilla and beat well.

cream cheese frosting (2)

Slowly add the powdered sugar, starting with 3 cups, continuing to beat until light and fluffy.

Stir occasionally.

Taste and check the consistency. If too thin or not sweet enough for your taste, add the extra 1/2 cup powdered sugar.

Mix on high for at 1 – 2 minutes.

cream cheese frosting (3)

Frosts one double round cake, one 9×13 layer cake, or 24 cupcakes.

cream cheese frosting (6)

cream cheese frosting (7)

2 responses to “cream cheese frosting

Leave a Reply

