Thanksgiving turkey

I am not posting pictures of my Thanksgiving turkey from this year, because I don’t find pictures of turkeys all that appetizing. Or maybe it’s only the photos I took don’t look that appetizing. Anyhoo, the turkey today tasted great. It was tender and delicious. But no photo, sorry.

~~~

I am thankful to have been given my mother’s oval roaster. Amazing results every time! This roasting pan is one of my favorite things.

~~~

Remember that bag of onion, celery, garlic and carrots from the other day? That’s what goes into the bottom of the pan when I make my Thanksgiving turkey. Then I add a cup of chicken broth.

The washed and dried bird goes on top, then a generous dusting of Bell’s. That stuff is awesome! Now, sure, you could make your own poultry seasoning using a combination of rosemary, oregano, sage, ginger, and marjoram, but Bell’s does it in just the perfect amounts, making it easy for me. I sometimes add salt and pepper, and sometimes honey, but today I simply put on the Bell’s and that was enough.

I start the turkey with the breast side down, then I cover it for the first hour or hour and a half. After that I flip the bird (laugh if you must), and keep it covered for a little longer. When there is only about an hour left I remove the cover. I also baste it with the liquids in the pan at least twice.

As for cooking time, 20 minutes per pound is what I aim for. This roasting pan tends to cook it quicker, so 15 minutes per pound is more accurate in my case.  I know the turkey is ready to come out of the oven when the internal temperature is at least 165F. And I always allow it to rest at least 15 minutes before giving my husband the job of carving it. Now, I’m not one of those people that thinks carving a turkey is a man’s job, but it is my husband’s job. He does it better than I do, and I’m busy making the gravy and getting all the food on platters and in serving dishes, so it works out for us. Divide, conquer, slice and serve. It works well for us.

*Note: For my gravy process please see this link. Delicious non-lumpy gravy…. Yum!

3 responses to “Thanksgiving turkey

Leave a Reply

