barbecue bake

My husband loves food. He’s the type of guy that will eat just about anything, and really enjoys it all. The only thing we joke about him not liking would be egg noodles, but that’s because when we were first married I forgot to time them and turned the egg noodles into something that didn’t resemble food. He, being a kind man, tried to eat them anyway, in order to not hurt my feelings. At the time I felt terrible that he ate what surely would damage his stomach, but now am glad he did, because we’ve had a good laugh from that for the past two decades!

~~~

When I ask my husband what meals he’d like, when I’m doing the meal planning for the upcoming week, you’d think he’s suggest something new and different to satisfy his varied food tastes. No. Instead, each week his answers are almost always exactly the same:

  1. fish
  2. the ground turkey with barbecue sauce, green beans and cornbread on top thing

This second dish is so ridiculously simple, I have an issue calling it a recipe. It also is so ridiculously simple that I laugh every time he requests it. For someone who loves all kinds of foods, how this dish ended up one of his favorites is beyond me.

So here you go readers. My husband’s second most requested meal.

P.S. No photos for this one, not because I didn’t take any, but because they didn’t turn out well. But I trust that if you use your imagination, you’ll get a good image in your head, and one that is vastly superior to the photos my camera captured yesterday.

##########

Barbecue Bake

1 pound ground turkey breast (or ground beef)

1 jar or 2 cups of your favorite barbecue sauce

2 cups frozen or fresh green beans

1 box cornbread mix, prepared as directed with the egg and milk

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese (if desired)

~

Heat oven to 400F.

Coat the bottom of a frying pan (or similar pan) with a small amount of canola or olive oil (omit the oil if using the beef). Cook the meat until just done.

Drain meat and place cooked meat into a casserole dish.

Pour the barbecue sauce over the meat.

If using frozen green beans, thaw them and drain any extra liquid. If using fresh, steam them for a few minutes until they are just barely tender.

Add the green beans to the meat and barbecue sauce, and stir.

Now, if there was a tricky part to this recipe, this next stage would be it. Distribute the prepared cornbread batter THINLY over the meat and green bean mixture. If it’s too thick, it won’t cook through. Note: To save time and frustration, sometimes I cook the cornbread batter in a round cake pan, or in individual muffins, then place the cooked cornbread on top of the heated meat mixture to serve.

Sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese on top, if desired.

Bake for about 25 – 35 minutes, until cornbread is golden brown and sauce is bubbling.

4 responses to “barbecue bake

  1. Sounds like a wonderful recipe with cornbread. I think it would be tricky for me too! At the end of the day, taste is what matters! And I know it must have been delicious!

Leave a Reply

