tarragon chicken salad

Almost twenty years ago a favorite aunt, who has since passed away, found a recipe for tarragon chicken salad in her local newspaper, and tried it. She like it very much, and so did I. I’ve made this recipe many times over the years, and have changed it ever so slightly. Each time I make it I remember my aunt, and that puts a smile on my face.

~~~

This chicken salad is nice on its own, or on a green salad (as in the photo below), and especially good on croissants or sourdough bread.

##########

Tarragon Chicken Salad

1/4 cup mayonnaise

2 tablespoons sour cream

1/2 teaspoon mustard of your choice (I prefer horseradish mustard, but use Grey Poupon or Spicy Brown mustard when that’s not available.)

1 teaspoon white wine or red wine vinegar

2 cups chopped or shredded cooked chicken

1 tablespoon dried or fresh chopped tarragon

salt and pepper

~~~

In a large bowl, blend together mayo, sour cream, mustard, and vinegar.

Stir in the chicken and tarragon.

Season with salt and pepper, if desired.

Serve immediately, or chill, covered, for up to one day. Personally, I prefer for it to chill at least one hour before serving.

*Note: This recipe can easily be doubled or tripled.

3 responses to “tarragon chicken salad

  1. YUMMY! I have had this also and it is a favorite. Glad you like it too. . I recently had chicken salad made with curry and grapes and apples, that was good also. Love chicken salad. ASM

Leave a Reply

