fudgey brownies

Okay, here’s the thing: When I’m having a bad day, or a bad week, or a bad month, chocolate makes me feel better. It does. Today I really, really, really needed chocolate, and when my daughter offered to make brownies, well, that was the answer to a prayer if you ask me.

I’m a brownie fan, but not just any brownie will do. For me, a brownie must be gooey and have a crispy “crust”. This recipe was a new one for us, and it may be my new favorite. Wonderfully soft and gooey on the inside, with the perfect amount of flaky exterior.

(*Note: I cut this recipe out of a magazine years ago, added it to my recipe binder, and that’s where it sat until today. After doing some research I found it came from Hershey’s.)

The brownie in the above photo measured 3×4-inches, and though I would have enjoyed every bite of it, I did not eat the whole thing. A few bites of this delicious brownie were enough to satisfy my chocolate craving, and to remind me that even when things seem to be going wrong at every turn, there are some good things in life, such as daughters who enjoy baking, and chocolate.

##########

Fudgey Brownies

3/4 cup cocoa

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2/3 cup butter, melted and divided

1/2 cup boiling water

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 1/3 cups flour

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips (*we used semi-sweet)

~~

Heat oven to 350F.

Grease a 9×13-inch pan (or use a silicone liner or parchment paper on the bottom).

Stir together the cocoa and baking soda in large mixer bowl.

Stir in half of the butter.

Add boiling water an stir slowly until mixture thickens.

Stir in sugar and the eggs, and then the remaining half of the butter. Stir until smooth.

Add flour, vanilla and salt. Blend completely.

Stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour into prepared pan.

Bake 35 to 40 minutes (*we needed the full 40 minutes). The brownies will begin to pull away from the sides of the pan.

Cool completely in pan on a wire rack.

3 responses to “fudgey brownies

  1. First, I always leave with a craving after I pop in to see what you two have been up to….that’s a good thing lol. I know these brownies from Hershey.com and tomorrow is grocery shopping day, I just added a few things my list. “A day without chocolate is a day without sunshine.”

Leave a Reply

