double chocolate cookies

Haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been away. Not much cooking for me these past two weeks. Lots of eating out. Great restaurants and amazing bakeries, but my own cooking and baking has been severely limited.

Today was my day to finally go to the grocery store to fill up the house with food. While I was gone I left the kids at home (ahhhh, one of the joys of having teenagers!).  When I returned I unlocked the front door, opened it, and inhaled chocolatey goodness! My teen daughter had made double chocolate cookies, per my 6 year old’s request. Bonus!

~

The whole time on vacation, baked goods were plentiful at the bakeries, yet my poor little man couldn’t always enjoy them due to his severe tree nut allergy. Most of the bakeries and chocolate shops (chocolate shops!!!!) had cross-contamination issues. Therefore we promised the boy that when we returned home we would make him a large batch of delicious cookies that he could eat. Today was the day to fulfill that promise.

My wonderful and kind and amazing teen daughter made the cookies while I was at the store. She found a recipe that we hadn’t tried before, but it came from Ghiradelli so it was pretty much a given that it would be good. She said the batter was a bit thinner than expected (hello! this recipe has barely any flour!), but the cookies didn’t spread at all, so it all worked out well. The consensus is that they taste like a combined cookie and brownie. Otherwise known as a taste of heaven.

~~~~~~~~~~

Double Chocolate Cookies

8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate baking bars, broken into 1-inch pieces

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup chocolate chips (*we used mini semi-sweet chocolate chips)

~

Heat oven to 350F.

Melt baking chocolate according to directions on package.

Stir in the sugar, butter, eggs, and vanilla.

In a small bowl, stir together the flour and baking powder.

Add flour mixture to chocolate mixture and mix well.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Drop by 1/4 cup onto ungreased baking sheets, or baking sheets covered with parchment paper.

Bake for 12-14 minutes. DO NOT OVER BAKE.

Cool for one minute on baking sheet, then remove to cooling rack.

*Note: This recipe only makes about a dozen or a dozen and a half cookies. It’s pretty much melted chocolate with a bit of flour. Yum!

2 responses to “double chocolate cookies

  1. The cookie looks so good – I am craving chocolate and can’t find any under any of the cushions I’ve checked. I just noticed on your gravatar your legs work like mine. Never noticed that before. My most comfortable position is what I see in that picture as I’m quite double jointed in that area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

