caramel brownies

I haven’t made caramel brownies in years. Don’t know why. They’re a favorite of mine and my husband loves them as well (he remembers when I made them when we were first married). And my oldest children love brownies and they love caramel, yet I haven’t made these brownies for them. I can not explain why I’ve put off making these for so many years. I am a mystery unto myself.

~~~

I first made these when I was young and single … way back when. My housemates and girlfriends would often go to outdoor concerts together. Instead of the typical wine, cheese and crackers, and fruit, we’d bring hard liquor and caramel brownies. One of my girlfriends told me it was a Southern thing. I think it was more a hard liquor and brownie-loving thing, and not specific to any area of the country. When I met my husband-to-be shortly thereafter, I made these brownies for him, since he has a huge sweet tooth. It was love at first bite.

~~~

Today we made the brownies in muffin tins. That way I could make a few without caramel, for my youngest son, and because I am the proud owner of thousands of paper muffin liners. Problem is they are hard to take out of the paper liners when warm, and I love eating warm brownies, so we end up with messing looking, but delicious tasting, brownies (see bottom photo). If appearance matters to you, I’d suggest making them in a 9×13 pan, but please wait until they are cool to cut them, or you’ll end up with the same problem I had.

My brownie recipe is from Hershey’s (it’s been my go-to recipe for delicious homemade brownies for years), but you could use your favorite brownie recipe or a boxed brownie mix.

~~~

P. S. A huge thank you to a blogging friend for the inspiration to make these brownies. She sent me a package two weeks ago and in the box was a bag of caramels. The second I saw them I was reminded of those caramel brownies from years ago, and immediately put “make caramel brownies” on my to-do list. Thanks blogging friend!

##########

Caramel Brownies

2 dozen caramels

2 sticks butter

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

4 eggs

3/4 cup cocoa

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

~

Heat oven to 350F.

Remove wrappers from caramels and cut each one into fourths.

Fill muffin pans with paper liners, or grease a 9×13 baking pan.

In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave butter on high until melted.

Put melted butter into a mixer and slowly mix in the sugar and vanilla.

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

Add cocoa and mix until well blended.

Add flour, baking powder and salt. Mix well.

Distribute batter into prepared muffin tins or pan.

Place 4 – 6 pieces of caramel on each brownie, or if using the 9×13 pan just distribute the pieces evenly over all.

If, when making them in muffin tins, you end up with extra batter (as we did today) put a small amount on top of each brownie, covering up the caramels. (*Note: It doesn’t matter if the caramel pieces are exposed or covered up. The brownies will taste delicious either way.)

Bake 20-24 minutes if using the muffin tins, or 30-35 minutes if using the 9×13 pan.

Cool. (*Note: This is the hardest part.)

*Note: The original instructions for this brownie recipe were to stir with a spoon, and not to use an electric mixer. We use the electric mixer, but use a low speed to mix the ingredients.

*Final note: Next time I will make these in the 9×13 pan. Getting them out of the paper liners was a bother, even after they were cool.

3 responses to “caramel brownies

  1. So seriously decadent and gooey, the smell of caramel cooking is an ultimate favourite of mine and I can see by the gorgeous texture and those perfect nuggets of caramel that this recipe delivers. I agree that I wouldn’t be able to wait either…

Leave a Reply

