mozzarella meatballs

I don’t make meatballs often. Yet every time I do, I wonder why I don’t make them more frequently. They’re easy and my family loves them. Making a mental note right now to add meatballs to the weekly meal plan!

##########

Mozzarella Meatballs

1 egg

1/4 cup whole wheat bread crumbs

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon dried basil

salt

pepper

2 cups pasta sauce (any kind you prefer — homemade or from a jar), divided

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup grated or shredded Parmesan cheese

1 pound ground beef (I use either 80/20 or 85/15 for meatballs)

Olive or vegetable oil

~~~

In a large bowl, stir together the egg, bread crumbs and seasonings and 1/2 cup of the pasta sauce. Mix in the ground beef and mozzarella and Parmesan.

(*Note: I do not enjoy mixing raw meat with my fingers, and have found that stirring with a large serving fork mixes the meat and ingredients well.)

Form into balls about the size of golf balls. From the one pound of beef I get about 15 meatballs.

In a deep skillet, heat the oil (enough to cover the bottom of the pan … don’t skimp!).

Place the meatballs into the hot oil and cook over medium heat; turning the meatballs frequently, to brown them on all sides as best as possible. You may need to reduce the heat so that they don’t cook too quickly.

When brown on all sides, add the remaining pasta sauce.

Cover. Reduce heat to low. Simmer for at least 15 minutes (I like to let these simmer for up to 30 minutes).

Serve with pasta or on a sub roll.

2 responses to “mozzarella meatballs

  1. I have never placed mozzarella cheese in the meatballs; sounds and looks delicious!! I am definitely going to try it the next time I make them!

Leave a Reply

