picnic cake

When I was young, our family would frequently have picnics and cookouts with a distantly related family. I’m not sure how often we all got together at their house, but in my unreliable memory I think it was most often on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day.

I’m not sure what food was served — I do remember potato salad, and I’m guessing hamburgers and hotdogs were the main dish — but I clearly remember the cake made by the host mom. I call it picnic cake. Maybe because she once referred to it as that, or maybe because I didn’t know the name of it and associated it with picnics, since it was at every picnic at her house.

A few summers back I made this cake when our family got together for a rare picnic with some of my other siblings. And here’s the funny thing: None of them remembered picnic cake from our youth. Weird. It sure did make a huge impression on me.

##########

Picnic Cake

Make golden yellow cake in either a 9×13 pan, or two round or square pans.

Immediately after the cakes are done baking, remove from oven and place a single layer of marshmallows on top of the cake.

Return to oven for about 3 minutes, until the marshmallows are slightly toasted.

Allow to cool.

Remove from pan and frost with chocolate frosting.

***

*Note: Any marshmallows will do, but I have found that when using regular marshmallows, the marshmallow layer is too thick, so I started cutting each one in half, putting the sticky side down onto the cake. That works if you don’t want too much marshmallow, and you have the patience for cutting them. I don’t suggest using the mini marshmallows. They are just too little and don’t work well for this recipe.

I have found the best solution…. Last week I was purchasing marshmallows and found these at the store:

They are perfect for picnic cake!!!!! Just the right amount of marshmallow, and no cutting necessary.

Leave a Reply

