blondies

My past few posts have been sweets, so I know what you’re thinking: Where’s the real food???? And, Has her family been surviving on whoopie pies and chocolate cake for two weeks?????

To answer your questions, my family has been overjoyed to have so many sweets in the house, yes, but they’ve also been eating real food, such as vegetable soup, pork with applesauce, vegetables, taco stew, chickenoven roasted potatoes, and others that I’ve previously posted. I just haven’t tried any new main dish recipes to post lately, mainly because it’s been a crazy hectic month.When life goes by at 100 MPH, it’s easier for me to depend on my tried and true standards.

But when it comes to desserts, well, that’s another story. Therefore, today I’ve got another sweet recipe for ya!

~~~

I have a small “job” where I make dinner and dessert twice a week for a busy mom of three (everyone say hi to Becci!) and I strive to come up with new recipes when deciding what desserts to send over. That’s why I’ve posted more sweets lately. Making extra desserts twice a week has given me the opportunity to have fun and try things I wouldn’t make otherwise. It’s a win-win situation: Becci’s kids are happy, and my family is delighted to have lots of desserts in the house! (Plus, my daughter loves to bake, and when time allows she’ll bake the dessert for Becci.)

Today I was once again short on time, and my youngest son suggested I make brownies for Becci’s family. Great idea, because brownies are simple and quick and delicious. But… Becci’s kids aren’t fans. Hmmmm… my old brain remembered that just recently I had read another food blog with a recipe for blondies. These may be different enough that the kids will like them (crossing fingers). And they are quick to make. Perfect!

For Becci’s family I made them with mini M&Ms. My son can’t eat M&Ms due to the possible cross contamination with peanuts (darn you food allergies), so I made a second batch using nut-free mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. How easy were these to make? Well, it took longer to clean up than it did to get them ready for the oven. Right now they’re cooling. I can’t wait to cut them and try them later this afternoon! And I can’t wait to find out if Becci’s kids are happy with tonight’s dessert!

*Update: After cutting them and taking the above photo, I tried one. They’re delicious!

~~~

*Please note: This recipe was found on hookedontaste, and in her post it states she got it from Smitten Kitchen, and they state it came from a cookbook, How to Cook Everything. This is a well-traveled recipe!

##########

Blondies

1 stick butter, melted

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

a pinch of salt

1 cup flour

1/2 cup mini M&Ms or mini chocolate chips (or regular sized M&Ms or chocolate chips)

~~~

Heat oven to 350F.

Grease an 8×8-inch or 9×9-inch pan (or use silicone liners or parchment paper). *Note: Recipe calls for an 8×8-inch pan, but I used 9×9-inch pans. The result is a thinner blondie, but still very tasty! Next time, because I’d like to try them thicker, I’ll double the recipe and use a 9×13-inch pan.

In a mixer combine the butter and sugar until smooth.

Add the egg and then the vanilla.

Mix in the salt and flour until well combined.

Stir in the candy or chips.

Pour into prepared pan.

If desired, distribute an additional 1/4 cup M&Ms or chocolate chips on top. (*Note: I did this with the candy, but not on the batch made with chips.)

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until middle has set.

Cool completely. Then cut and serve.

Leave a Reply

