chocolate cake

Even though I’ve used the same chocolate cake recipe dozens of times, we didn’t have luck the last time we made it into cupcakes (see my daughter’s post), though that was most likely due to the baking powder/baking soda switch.

Because I’ve usually had great success with other Hershey’s chocolate recipes, today I searched their site for a chocolate cake recipe that included only ingredients I had on hand (my weekly trip to the grocery store is not until tomorrow, and I was not going to make a special trip just for one recipe). Found one they call Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake. I made just one small change to it, by substituting 1/3 cup milk for 1/3 cup water (the cup of water stayed the same). Why? Not really sure … it just seemed like a good idea at the time.

The batter was fluffy and looked delicious, though when the two round cakes came out of the oven, they weren’t as high as I expected. Also, the recipe called for a baking time of 30 to 35 minutes, but it took a bit over 35 minutes until the toothpick I inserted at each test came out clean.

I frosted it with chocolate frosting. After dinner we cut into the cake. I asked everyone at the table to tell me what they thought. Here are the responses:

“Moist!”

“MMMMMMMM…. so moist.”

“Yum! It’s so moist!”

I think we’ve found our new favorite chocolate cake recipe! And just so you know, it’s very moist.

~~~

Chocolate Cake

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 2/3 cups sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 eggs

2/3 cup cocoa

2 cups flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup water + 1/3 cup milk (or use 1 1/3 cups water)

~

Heat oven to 350F.

Grease and flour two 9-inch round cake pans, or use silicone baking liners (my preference).

Mix together the softened butter, sugar, vanilla and eggs.

In a bowl combine the dry ingredients.

Add to the butter/sugar/egg mixture the dry ingredients with the water and milk — a little of each at a time — until all mixed together well.

Distribute evenly between the two cake pans.

ready for the oven

Bake for 30-40 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool in pans for 10 minutes.

Remove from pans and cool cakes completely on wire racks.

Frost and serve.

7 responses to “chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

