whoopie pies

There are a few baked goods that instantly remind me of my youth.

apple pie

picnic cake

chocolate chip cookies

whoopie pies

Ahhh, whoopie pies. I grew up thinking these were a southern favorite, since my mom made them and she was from the south (the northern part of the south, but still). It was just recently that I learned they originated in New England, where I’m from. No wonder the love I have for them is so deep!

Now this recipe was given to me from my mom when I begged for it years ago, but as I’ve mentioned, my mom has a gazillion trillion recipes and this may not be the one she made when we were younger. Also, I’ve typed it up and transferred it from one recipe card to another a few different times, and I’m pretty sure I typed it wrong at least once. Also, the original recipe listed solid shortening, but I never use that, therefore my version used butter instead. So over time I experimented with the recipe until I became satisfied that it was ready to pass on to my kids. Below is the version I use now, and it does bring back many wonderful childhood memories!

##########

Whoopie Pies

Cookies:

5 tablespoons butter, softened (not melted)

1 cup sugar

1 egg

5 tablespoons cocoa

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 cups flour

1 cup milk (I use whole milk, but 2% would be fine)

~~~

Heat oven to 425F.

In mixer, beat butter with sugar. Add egg. Add dry ingredients. Mix slowly while adding the milk. Mix well to combine (scrape sides of bowl a few times).

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets, or cookie sheets lined with parchment paper (my favorite choice) or silicone baking sheets. Try to keep them uniform in size and shape. They will spread a bit, so keep some space between each one.

Bake at 425F for 9 minutes. Let sit on cookie sheet for 1 minute, then transfer (carefully!) to cooking rack. Allow to cool completely.

***

Filling:

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened (not melted!)

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

about 8 ounces marshmallow cream (I purchase the 16 ounce container and spoon out what looks to be half. When I purchase the 7 ounce container, I use the whole thing.)

~~~

In mixer, cream together the butter, powdered sugar, and salt. Add the vanilla extract and marshmallow cream. Mix well and scrape the sides a few times.

***

When the cookies are completely cool, plop a heaping tablespoon of the filling on one cookie, then top with the second  cookie.

Eat. Enjoy. Create wonderful memories!

 

Updated June 2014: I tried a new recipe for these and was not thrilled. They turned out too fluffy and BIG. Had to cut them in half before filling them, rather than using one for the top and one for the bottom. Won’t use that recipe again! Sticking with mine. Below are some pictures from this new batch.

foodwithpictures whoopie pies (1) foodwithpictures whoopie pies (5)

7 responses to “whoopie pies

  1. Wonderful! Whoopie pies are the latest fashion here in Aus and everyone’s talking about them. I love the look of your recipe and can’t wait till I cook with my niece again! These are her absolute fave!

    • Maybe when you and your niece make them you should double the batch… by the 2nd day mine are all gone! (That could also be due to the fact that the recipe only makes about about 20 whoopie pies, and I shared them with another family.)

Leave a Reply

