hidden kisses cookies

When Christmas comes around, I make a lot of cookies. Perfect time of the year for it, and there are so many fun recipes that show up online and in magazines around that time.

Today as I was wondering what type of cookies to make for a friend, I came across my Christmastime cookie recipes and realized I don’t need to wait eight months to make these … they’ll taste just as good in April as they do in December.

I decided on a recipe that was super easy to make, but since I didn’t have any cocoa in the house, I omitted that. And you know what? I think I like them better without the cocoa!

##########

Hidden Kisses Cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened … not melted

2/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour (I used white whole wheat)

1/4 cup cocoa OR an additional 1/4 cup flour

about 3 dozen Hershey’s Kisses, unwrapped

powdered sugar, if desired

~~~

Heat oven to 350F.

Beat butter, sugar and vanilla in mixer until creamy.

Gradually add flour and cocoa (or just flour if not using cocoa), beating until blended. The dough will come together — that’s when you know it’s ready.

Mold a tablespoon of dough around each chocolate kiss, covering the kiss completely. Roll gently in your hands to form a ball. Place the balls on ungreased cookie sheets (or cookie sheets lines with silicone baking sheets or parchment paper).

Bake 10-12 minutes or until set. Note: The cookies will not be golden brown. If they are, you’ve cooked them too long.

Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet then transfer to a wire rack.

Allow to cool about 5 minutes (or more), then roll each one in powdered sugar, if desired.

Cool completely, then store in an air-tight container.

2 responses to “hidden kisses cookies

Leave a Reply

