taco salad

My plan for dinner tonight was taco stew. While the onions and a few scallions were cooking in the oil I gathered the other necessary ingredients, starting with enchilada sauce. Well wouldn’t you know I am completely out of enchilada sauce. This astounds me, because I typically purchase at least one can each week at the grocery story. Or, I did, at one point, but then had such a stash that I stopped doing so. But I really didn’t think I’ve used them all up, yet the absence of enchilada sauce on my pantry shelves proves otherwise.

While searching frantically in the pantry, I took many items out thinking the enchilada sauce might be hiding behind bulky items. I found half a package of taco shells. Some really nice organic yellow corn taco shells that I had forgotten I had.

Hmmmm… this got me thinking. I could switch from taco stew to tacos. Sure! That would work.

But I didn’t want tacos, mainly because I get frustrated when the taco shells break at the first bite.

Okay, the other ingredients could be a salad and the broken taco shells can go on top…. voila! … taco salad!

After eating a large bowl of this salad, I was shocked that I don’t make this more often. So good. So easy. Ridiculously simple. I will be putting this meal into the rotation more often. And I will be adding enchilada sauce to my grocery list … for next time!

##########

Taco Salad

In a skillet saute chopped onions and scallions in olive oil or canola oil. Add 1 pound ground turkey breast and cook through.

Add a few tablespoons of taco seasoning.

Lower the heat and add about 1/2 cup salsa. Stir well.

Drain 1 can black beans, and add to the skillet. Stir well and cover.

~~~

In a bowl start with cleaned and chopped romaine lettuce.

Add chopped tomatoes.

Add a large scoop of the meat and bean mixture.

Crush one taco shell and put that in the bowl.

Top it all off with shredded Mexican cheese and a scoop of sour cream.

Enjoy… dinner is done!

2 responses to “taco salad

Leave a Reply

