oven roasted sweet potato wedges

Earlier I posted my recipe for oven roasted potato wedges. I often make sweet potatoes at the same time, in the same way. The only difference are the spices and herbs used. I put herbs on the white potatoes, but not the sweet potatoes. For those I prefer a good amount of garlic powder and black pepper.

#########

Oven Roasted Sweet Potato Wedges

2 large or 4 small sweet potatoes

olive oil

black pepper

garlic powder

~~~

Heat oven to 400F.

Drizzle a decent amount of olive oil on a foil lined baking sheet or shallow casserole dish (if using a baking sheet, make sure it has a lip so that the oil doesn’t drip off).

Peel and cube the sweet potatoes. *Note: I prefer a 1-inch cube, but you can do a smaller cube, or cut them into larger wedges, or cut in strips for french fry size — the shape doesn’t matter. The important thing is to keep the pieces uniform in size, so that they cook evenly.

Place the potato pieces on the baking sheet and toss them gently in the oil. Spread the potato pieces evenly, so that they don’t overlap.

Sprinkle with black pepper and a generous amount of garlic powder.

Bake for 20 minutes (15 minutes if the pieces are cut smaller than a 1-inch size cube). Flip the pieces, then return to the oven for another 5-10 minutes. The outside will be firm and the inside tender. Delicious!

(Here are the potatoes ready for the oven.)

2 responses to “oven roasted sweet potato wedges

  1. This is so easy and sounds so delicious! I will try it the next time I get my hands on some good sweet potato. Thanks for sharing. Good post! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some lemoney sorbet and would love to hear what you think 🙂

  2. I love sweet potatoes and this is one of my all-time favorite ways to prepare them! So simple and full of flavor. Love the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

