baked asparagus

I’ve always loves asparagus. There was a time when I was young that I’d only eat one section but my oldest brother would eat the other section, so we traded and all were happy. As the years went on I grew to love the whole spear.

This recipe is one of my favorite ways to cook them. I’ve had the recipe for over ten years, and have changed it a bit since first finding it. The original was submitted by a mom in a volunteer organization I worked at, for a mom’s cookbook that never got off the ground.

I make this every year for Easter dinner, and quite often when asparagus are in season. Super yummy!

##########

Baked Asparagus

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 pound fresh asparagus

1/4 cup finely chopped onion

1/4 cup finely chopped celery

2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup bread crumbs

1/2 cup chopped tomatoes, OR, 1/2 cup tomato sauce

~~~

Heat oven to 375F.

Place items in shallow baking dish in order listed.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Serve.

*Notes: When making this for my gluten-free mom, I use gluten free bread crumbs. It doesn’t alter the taste at all. And I’ve made this for a friend who isn’t a fan of onions, so those were omitted, and for a sister who doesn’t eat tomatoes, those were omitted. Both times the results were still yummy. You really can’t go wrong if adjusting the ingredients a little here or there. It also can be halved or doubled without any problem. But if doubling, use a large enough baking dish so that the spears aren’t layered too thickly. If that’s the case, it’s best to use more than one baking dish.

2 responses to “baked asparagus

  1. Roasted asparagus is delicious. My kids always eat their entire serving when roasted and simply drizzled with olive oil salt and pepper…so yummy!

Leave a Reply

