bunny cake

Back in the early 1970s, when I was a young girl, I started making a bunny cake each Easter. Back then I’d make it with friends, or with my sisters. Now I make them with my kids. So simple to do and the kids love decorating the bunny.

This year my daughter made orange cake, rather than a yellow cake, and we frosted it with vanilla frosting.

Here are the steps:

Step #1:

Bake the cake in two round cake pans.

Step #2:

When cool, leave one as is (for the head) and the other cut as directed below (for the ears and bow tie).

Notice the two simple cuts to make the ears and bow tie.

ta da!

Step #3:

Place the pieces on a large cookie sheet to form your bunny.

(this cookie sheet was not big enough!)

Step #4:

Frost the cake.

Step #5:

Decorate!

2012 bunny cake

2011 bunny cake

2010 bunny cake

Step #6:

Eat!

Poor bunny!

2 responses to “bunny cake

Leave a Reply

