hard cooked eggs

Easter is tomorrow. Dying eggs is a tradition. Cooking the eggs can be a problem. It was years before I finally learned how to cook them correctly. Here’s the thing: they shouldn’t be hard boiled eggs, but rather hard cooked eggs. Hard boiling can lead to a rubbery texture and that unsightly green ring near the yolk. When you hard cook them, those problems disappear!

With many thanks to the Wegmans newsletter from years ago, here is how I learned to do it right.

##########

  1. Place eggs in a single layer in a large saucepan (my largest one fits a dozen eggs nicely). Add cold water to come to at least one inch above the eggs.
  2. Cover. Bring to a full boil, then immediately TURN OFF HEAT. Remove from burner to prevent further cooking, if necessary.
  3. Let eggs stand as is for 18 minutes if extra large eggs, or 15 minutes for large eggs, or 12 minutes for medium eggs.
  4. When time is up, run cold water over the eggs until cool. Then place the eggs in ice water until completely cooled.
  5. Refrigerate until ready to dye.

Note: The newsletter recommended not using the freshest eggs you have, but rather the least-fresh, since fresh eggs are harder to peel.

 

Updated to include a photo of the decorated eggs:

3 responses to “hard cooked eggs

  1. That’s basically how I do them as well. I bring to a boil, turn off heat and cover for 20, then rinse with cold water 2-3 times, and refrigerate. I like the varying times based on size. I’ll have to try that next time.

  2. Yay, this is the method I use. Glad to know I’ve been doing it right. 🙂
    Do you have a recipe for deviled eggs? That’s the only way G. will eat them, and now we have thirteen eggs to consume (the Judas cracked and we had to add an extra) (can’t make it up).

    • One thing I’ve never made are deviled eggs. I put most of the hard cooked eggs on salads, because none of my kids eats hard cooked eggs, leaving all of them for me and my husband!

Leave a Reply

