homemade snickers bars

So excited!!!! Today, for your reading (and drooling) pleasure, we have a guest blogger! Anne is a college sophomore who loves to bake. She is the eldest daughter of one of my cousins (the one that gave me the banana muffin recipe). Such a great family and a wonderful daughter and an overall good person. And she loves chocolate and baked goods … which makes her a pretty cool person, for that reason alone!

Thanks Anne!

*Note: Source of the recipe is listed below, and all photos were taken by Anne.

~~~

Some of my earliest memories involve baking. My mom, who is a fabulous baker, would sit my sister and I on the counter and let us “help” her mix cookie dough or frosting. When I was 10, I made a boxed cake mix all by myself and I was so proud of myself you would have thought I’d created the most elaborate, decadent dessert ever. Eventually I progressed past boxed mixes and began baking things from scratch, sometimes making up the recipe as I went along. Over the years, baking has become one of my favorite hobbies. Even now that I’m at college, I still find time to bake. My best guy friends live in a house and I keep a shelf of baking supplies in their kitchen. Almost every Friday, I’ll go over and bake them something. It works pretty well – I get to bake and they get to eat!

The recipe I’m posting today is something I found on Pinterest while I was home for Spring Break. I was looking for something new to try and I found a recipe for homemade Snickers bars. They are absolutely delicious and fairly easy to make. Enjoy! 🙂

##########

Homemade Snickers Bars

[lightly adapted from an old Taste of Home recipe]

Line a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil and grease with cooking spray.

Bottom Chocolate Layer

1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips

1/4 cup peanut butter

Thoroughly grease you baking pan. Melt ingredients together in a saucepan or microwave, then pour into the baking dish and spread until even. Let cool and harden completely.

Nougat Layer

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup evaporated milk

1 1/2 cups marshmallow fluff

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cup salted peanuts, roughly chopped

1 tsp vanilla extract

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add in sugar and milk, stirring until dissolved and bring to a boil. Let cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in fluff, peanut butter and vanilla, stirring until smooth. Turn off heat and fold in peanuts, then pour over bottom chocolate layer. Let cool completely.

Caramel Layer

1 14-ounce bag of caramels

1/4 cup whipping cream

Combine ingredients in a saucepan over low heat. Let melt, stirring occasionally, until smooth – this took about 10 minutes for me. Pour over nougat layer and let cool completely.

Top Chocolate Layer

1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips

1/4 cup peanut butter

Melt ingredients together in a saucepan or microwave, then pour over caramel and spread until even. Let cool and harden completely.

Refrigerate for at least one hour, then cut as desired. For best results, refrigerate overnight and then store at room temperature. If they get too gooey, just refrigerate them again to let them firm up.

5 responses to “homemade snickers bars

  1. Whoa, seriously decadent. Not sure if I can allow myself to bake a whole tray at home, your truly has little will power! That’s why I bake and take (to work!!!) but it’s Easter holidays and I don’t have to go to work, 🙂

Leave a Reply

