baked french toast

Hello dear readers … you are in for a treat! My friend BecciR is my guest blogger for the day! I met her a few years ago, and liked her from the first second. She’s smart and funny and kind and has a peacefulness about her … what’s not to like! But it got better. One day we had brunch at her house and in addition to a beautiful spread of fruit and muffins and chocolates, she made an amazing baked French toast. Oh my oh my oh my oh my it was delicious! It quickly become a favorite breakfast in my family. I now make it for all holiday breakfasts, because it’s delicious, and most of the work is done ahead of time. So on Easter morning, or Christmas morning, and even on non-holiday mornings, such as at the beach house, or when company comes, or for a birthday breakfast, this is what I make! Okay, enough from me, let’s move on to what BecciR has to say! Thanks BecciR!

Edited to add: The *notes* in the recipe section are my comments, and I took the photos.

~~~~~~~~~~

I don’t know if I have met a type of bread I didn’t like. Sweet or savory. Soft or toasted. Crusty or crustless. Topped or stuffed. Anyway you slice it (ha ha) it’s a weakness for me.

It’s probably not doing my waistline any favors, but I think in moderation, I can handle a bit here and there. 🙂

While living in Atlanta, I had a fabulous group of friends. I miss them all dearly, but they all gave me wonderful recipes to enjoy wherever life takes me. These recipes are reminders of the laughs and love we shared. A recipe I just love is from my friend “Sherry Berry”.

The original was called Grand Marnier French Toast. Oh yeah! It’s crispy and buttery and oh so delicious. It’s an easy fix-ahead dish perfect for a family breakfast/brunch. Definitely a go-to when family is coming into town.

I know Grand Marnier is expensive and if you don’t keep it in the house, I have found little bottles at the ABC store checkout which work for just this recipe.

Just a note, if you are watching cholesterol intake, we substitute egg beaters for the real eggs. Taste or performance is not effected.

If you give this recipe a whirl, you will not be disappointed…we never have. [;)]

##########

French Toast

Ingredients:
4 large eggs, slightly beaten
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2/3 cup orange juice
1/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons Grand Marnier (*Note: This ingredient is completely optional — I’ve made it without and the result is still amazing!)
1 16-ounce Italian bread, cut into 1-inch slices
2/3 cup butter (*Note: When making this, I now only use 1/2 cup butter and it works very well)

Combine eggs, sugar, nutmeg, orange juice, milk, and Grand Marnier, if desired. Stir well.

Fit bread into a single layer into a lightly greased 13x9x2 baking dish. Pour egg mixture over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight (if not making overnight, refrigerate at least 8 hours). If possible, turn the bread over once during this time (*Note: I flip the bread right before heading to bed.)

In the morning, heat oven to 400F.

Melt the butter and pour it into a jelly roll pan (or melt the butter in the jelly roll pan in the hot oven). Place bread in a single layer in the pan.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Turn bread and bake additional 10-12 minutes. You may need to adjust cooking time depending on how soaked your bread is.

Garnish with powdered sugar, fresh fruit and/or maple syrup.

Good morning!

My daughter's piece ... no fruit, no syrup, just powdered sugar. Yum!

so pretty ... and so delicious!

Leave a Reply

