barbecue sauce

I’ve posted my recipe for pork barbecue, and I’ve mentioned that I also make that sauce on its own to keep on hand for chicken barbecue pizza (a favorite meal of mine), or barbecue chicken. But sometimes I like a different barbecue taste — one that’s sweeter or spicier, or just different. Here’s the other recipe I use, and it’s quickly becoming my new favorite. I pretty much could eat the whole pan of it while it’s cooking. I don’t. But I’ve considered it. Look how beautiful it is!

One of the best things about this recipe is how simple it is, and another great thing is that you can customize it. Add more honey for an even sweeter taste. Double the garlic for garlic lovers (i.e. my husband). It would also be great without any garlic or cayenne if those don’t give you pleasure. I don’t think you can go wrong with this one!

##########

Barbecue Sauce

1 4.5-ounce tube double concentrated tomato paste, OR, 1 6-ounce can tomato paste

2 tablespoons ketchup

2-4 tablespoons honey or brown sugar

1-2 tablespoons molasses

1-2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2-4 tablespoons white vinegar and/or cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1-2 teaspoons garlic powder (or more!)

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

dash of salt

~

Stir all ingredients together in a saucepan.

Simmer for 15 minutes.

Use immediately or store covered in refrigerator.

*Note: I “eyeball” all the measurements…. Not one measuring spoon is soiled for this recipe! The measurements are listed as a guideline — a little more or a little less of any item will still end up very delicious! The secret (if you could call it a secret) is to taste it before heating, and then a few times during the 15 minutes of simmering. Add more of this or that to get it just where you’d like it.

One response to “barbecue sauce

  1. Your writings make one feel cooking is not as difficult as expected…good confidence builder for new cooks. Keep up the good and delicious work, or should I say Fun….ASM

Leave a Reply

