vanilla frosting

Yesterday I posted the recipe for golden yellow cake. Here is the recipe for the vanilla frosting I made for it. I am a HUGE chocolate fan, but sometimes a simple yellow cake with vanilla frosting is what I crave.

*Note: This recipe was based on one of my chocolate frosting recipes. I simply omitted the cocoa and reduced the milk.

##########

Vanilla Frosting

1 stick butter, softened but NOT MELTED

3 cups powdered sugar

1/4-1/3 cup whole milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat together the softened butter and powdered sugar, while slowly adding the milk. Put just a teaspoon at a time, mixing well after each addition.

When the consistency is where you like it, add the vanilla and mix well again.

*Note: I put it on high and step away for a minute or two. Makes it light and fluffy.

Frosts one 9×13 cake or two 8×8 or 9×9 cakes.

That's my son's hand reaching in for the fork ... he couldn't wait to eat it!

One response to “vanilla frosting

  1. Again, fantastic frosting! It is not too sweet and the texture is perfect. Not granular at all. I am definitely going to try the cake and frosting the next time I get a sweet tooth, though I have my doubts that I will make it as nicely as yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

