pork with applesauce

I grew up watching The Brady Bunch. Way back when …. First runs in the early 70s. I’m one of six children and the blended Brady family had six children — I could relate to so many of their issues. One thing I’ll never forget about that show is that Peter Brady loved pork chops and applesauce. I’ve always been a big fan too. Peter Brady was famous for going around saying “pork chops and applesauce” in a semi-annoying way and so did I … now I am wondering if this used to get on my mom’s nerves. Yup, most likely.

My mom and grandmother both made awesome pork chops, and to my delight they made them often. For me, applesauce was a necessary side for those chops. Didn’t matter if the applesauce was from a jar or homemade. I considered the concept to be pretty simple: when making pork chops, you must serve it with applesauce.

When I was out on my own and satisfying my pork chop and applesauce cravings, I decided to save time and clean-up by making it together in the crockpot. As they cook, the apples flavor the pork and help to keep it moist.

*Note: I tend to buy pork tenderloins more often than other cuts of pork, and that’s what I use in this recipe, most of the time. But any cut of pork would work.

##########

Pork with Applesauce

pork tenderloin or chops or roast … you pick!

3 granny smith apples, peeled and cubed

2 tablespoons real maple syrup

2 tablespoons brown sugar

*Note: The amounts of apples, maple syrup and brown sugar are intended for one tenderloin or 4 chops. Increase these amounts proportionally if using a larger amount of meat.

In a skillet over medium heat, brown all sides of the pork in a small amount of vegetable oil. Then place the meat in the crockpot.

Into the crockpot also put the cubed apples, maple syrup and brown sugar.

Cook on high for a few hours, or on low if cooking all day.

2 responses to “pork with applesauce

Leave a Reply

