creamy chicken bake

In an earlier post I mentioned not cooking with a lot of canned items (thank my mom for that — when she was younger she got ill from a damaged can, and from then on had a strong dislike for most canned goods). I also mentioned that I’m not a fan of recipes that use condensed soup. Again, true. But I have something I must tell you….

Confession: I do have a few recipes that use condensed soup.

This recipe is my favorite. It’s fast. Easy. Quick. Simple. And it makes a wonderful meal when you need to bring dinner to someone.

This is one of the meals I make where my husband can not have only one serving. Try as hard as he can, it’s just not possible. I take that as a sign of a good recipe.

*Note: This recipe originated from Campbell’s Soup.

##########

Creamy Chicken Bake

1 can cream condensed of celery soup

1 cup milk

2 cups cooked chopped cooked chicken (I cook mine in a frying pan with olive oil, salt and pepper)

1 package frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots; thawed and drained

4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese (or colby, or monterey jack)

1/2 cup French fried onions, divided

4 ounces refrigerator crescent rolls

Heat oven to 375F.

In a deep casserole dish, combine soup, milk, chicken, veggies, cheese, and half the onion.

Bake covered for 20 minutes.

Unwrap the crescent rolls and place the four triangles on the casserole. Top with remaining onion.

Bake uncovered for 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

