turkey tenderloin with honey sage gravy

turkey tenderloin with honey sage gravy

 

I eat a lot of chicken. A lot. I like chicken very much, but sometimes I just need to have something different. I also like turkey but usually only make the huge bird at Thanksgiving. Turkey is a nice change from chicken, without being too different. So in order to enjoy turkey on any given night, without having the whole bird in my oven all day, I came up with this recipe using turkey tenderloins.

The first few times I made turkey tenderloins, I didn’t make gravy. That didn’t sit well with my husband. He just didn’t understand. Turkey. Gravy. They go together. He expects them together. So it occurred to me that I should just make gravy then. It’s not hard — only takes an extra 5 minutes, which is a good amount of time to let the meat rest after removing it from the pan.

From start to finish these turkey tenderloins only take about 30 minutes. Perfect for a busy weeknight. Perfect for a Sunday dinner. Perfect for any time you’re craving the flavors of Thanksgiving turkey. And a perfect alternative to chicken.

##########

Turkey Tenderloins with Honey Sage Gravy

3 turkey tenderloins

olive or canola oil

2 teaspoons sage

garlic powder

black pepper

salt

3 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon flour

1 cup chicken broth

Coat the bottom of a large saute pan with oil. Once heated (cooking over medium/high heat), place the tenderloins in the pan. Sprinkle them with the sage, garlic powder, pepper and salt. Cook until brown on each side.

Reduce heat to low, add the honey, and place a lid on the pan. Cook on low for about 5-10 minutes (depends on how hot the pan stays, and how thick the meat is).

Remove the tenderloins from the pan. Strain the liquid and reserve this for the gravy.

Place the butter in the saute pan over low heat, and as it melts, whisk in the flour. Once you have a smooth, thick paste (this will only take a minute or two), whisk in the reserved liquid and the chicken broth. Continue to whisk this over low heat until it thickens. You might need to increase the heat to medium for a short time, but only do that after the liquid is combined well into the butter/flour mixture.

Serve over the turkey tenderloins.

*Note: I don’t always include exact measurements of items such as garlic powder, salt and pepper, because I never measure them myself, and what I find to be the perfect amount might be too little or too much for someone else. In this recipe, use the amounts you prefer.

***Edited to add that this makes a very nice — and very quick — Thanksgiving meal. Short on time or only serving a couple people? Still want something special for your Thanksgiving meal? This is it!***

2 responses to “turkey tenderloin with honey sage gravy

  1. Your pictures and stories are so enticing I think I have gained 10 lbs. just looking and reading your blog each day. Continue the good work. ASM

Leave a Reply

