pork tenderloin with honey, mustard, rosemary and thyme

I’ve been making this pork tenderloin with honey, mustard, rosemary and thyme for about thirteen years. My mom gave me this recipe which she found in a Cooking Light magazine. I’ve changed it ever so slightly (my version includes garlic powder and increases the amount of honey, as well as offers alternative methods of cooking the pork).

Thirteen years is a long time. Do you wonder how many times I’ve made this in those thirteen years? Well, I am wondering too, and guesstimating that I make it once every other week, that would be, let’s see, 13 years times 52 weeks per year, divided by 2 …. 338 times. Wow. No wonder my husband doesn’t get excited anymore when I make this meal. He likes it, and it used to be a favorite of his, but lately he hasn’t been jumping up and down when we have it for dinner. Thirteen years is a long time. But, and this is important, my daughter and I love it. We’d be happy eating this weekly. Yup, she and I could eat this 676 times in thirteen years and not be tired of it. It’s that good, if you were to ask us.

*Again, the picture disappoints! AARRRGGGG… Lately I’ve been cooking it in a skillet, as described below, but on this day I did the oven method and kept it in the oven just a few minutes too long. Most of the sauce cooked off and it looks dry. It didn’t taste dry, but in the photo it looks that way due to the lack of sauce.

##########

Pork Tenderloin with Honey, Mustard, Rosemary and Thyme

vegetable oil

2 pork tenderloins

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

2 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon rosemary

1 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

salt and pepper

Original oven method:

Heat oven to 350F.

Coat bottom of shallow baking dish with a light layer of oil. Place the tenderloin in the pan.

In small bowl combine remaining ingredients. Pour over the pork.

Cook for about 45 minutes. You want the internal temperature of the pork to reach 145-160 degrees (depends on how you like it… newer regulations suggest it’s okay to eat at the lower temperature, but I prefer to do it the way I always have and cook until 160 degrees).

Note: If cooking more than two tenderloins (and you should, these are great for a crowd or if you want leftovers!) make sure there is a bit of room between each one in the pan. Use more than one pan if need be.

Stove-top cooking method (my preferred method — and hey, it’s faster):

In a skillet, brown both sides of the tenderloins in a light layer of vegetable oil. If in a very big hurry, slice the tenderloins into 1-inch thick slices before browning. Once the pork is browned, pour the honey mustard mixture over all. Cover and reduce heat to low. Let it cook like this, COVERED, about 10-15 minutes (use the lower end of that estimate if the pork has been sliced). Again, you’re looking for an internal temperature of 145-160, if the tenderloin was left whole. If it’s been sliced, it cooks faster and you don’t need to use a thermometer — you can determine if it is done by sight.

One response to “pork tenderloin with honey, mustard, rosemary and thyme

  1. I made this tonight….one for a friend who just had a baby and one for my family. It is delicious! Thanks for sharing this simply, yummy recipe…. I have a couple different pork tenderloin recipes that I have made in the past, but my husband said this one is way better and his new favorite!

Leave a Reply

