creamed chicken

In yesterday’s post I promised the recipe for creamed chicken, which I make sometimes with turkey, and which I serve with drop biscuits.  It wasn’t until I started typing that I realized I don’t have an actual recipe for this. It’s all in my head … I’ve done it so often I don’t think about it. Definitely a recipe I could do in my sleep — well, maybe not in my sleep, but with one hand tied behind my back for sure! Anyhoo…

While I was typing up the recipe I had to guesstimate the quantities for each ingredient. Even if I’m off by a little bit, the outcome will still be tasty!  Next time I make it I’ll pay more attention to exactly what I’m doing, and if changes to this recipe need to be made I’ll come back and edit it. But really, I think this is pretty close. I’m sure of it. I think.

P.S. I’m disappointed with this photo… I was in a hurry and took the picture before the creamed chicken had time to thicken. If you are more patient than I am, your creamed chicken will look better than the above photo.

##########

Creamed Chicken

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons flour

1 cup milk

2 cups chicken broth

1 teaspoon Bell’s seasoning (if you don’t have this, use a combination of rosemary, oregano, sage, ginger, and marjoram)

salt

pepper

3 cups cooked and cubed chicken (or turkey)

In a skillet, over low heat, melt the butter and whisk in the flour. This will make a thick paste, known as a roux. Whisk in the milk until smooth. When it’s all incorporated into a smooth sauce, increase heat to medium and bring just to a low boil. Whisk in the broth and seasonings and lower heat. Stir in the chicken, cover, and allow to simmer until chicken is heated through; stirring often. The longer it simmers, the thicker it will get. Serve over biscuits or noodles. Also goes well on toast or with a baked potato.

Made another batch for a friend... this is what it looks like when it's thicker.

2 responses to “creamed chicken

  1. Life of real cooking….perfection is not always a sure thing. It looks delicious and welcoming. I think we have all gained weight just by looking at the great meals you have shown us.. nice hobby you are doing and benifits plus for you and your family. ASM

Leave a Reply

