drop biscuits

Oh the joy!  The Joy of Cooking, that is.

Now back when I was a single lady (did Beyonce’s song just go through your head as well?) it was mandatory that all women out on their own who attempt to do anything in a kitchen need to own a copy of The Joy of Cooking. I had a roommate who was very much a do-as-your-momma-tells-you southern belle and she wouldn’t put on her ruffled apron until she had consulted her precious and stained copy. It was difficult for me to display my copy of this cookbook/reference book/kitchen bible next to hers on the shelf in our shared kitchen. Her copy had dried-on food in the pages, a ripped cover, bent pages, and was just overall yukky looking, while mine was pristine and had cute little sticky notes indicating recipes I liked to reference. It used to freak me out to even imagine her using my copy by mistake.

Decades have gone by and I don’t refer to this cookbook as often (and it is still in good condition, in case you were wondering). But one recipe I got out of that book, and that I use often, is for Drop Biscuits. These are simple to make and go well with creamed turkey, which I make a day or two after Thanksgiving every year. When I was growing up that meal was always a favorite of mine — almost more so than the main Thanksgiving day meal. Kudos to my mom who made it each year without fail. She had one happy daughter.

Now I have a daughter who couldn’t care less about the creamed turkey, but loves the drop biscuits. And good news, she volunteers to make them when she’s in the mood for biscuits! Double yahoo!

And more good news: You don’t have to wait until Thanksgiving for these (but you knew that, right?). The other day I purchased two rotisserie chickens for the enchiladas which resulted in way more chicken than I needed for that recipe. So I cut up the remaining chicken and made creamed chicken with drop biscuits the next night.

Tomorrow’s recipe will be the creamed chicken. Make sure you come back to check it out!

##########

Drop Biscuits

1 3/4 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons baking powder

5 tablespoons cold butter, cut up

1 cup milk

Heat oven to 450F.

In large deep bowl combine dry ingredients. Add the butter to the bowl. Use a pastry blender (also known as a dough blender) to cut in the butter until the pieces of butter are all smaller than a pea. Add the cup of milk and stir with a fork, just until it all comes together. Use a serving spoon to “drop” the batter onto a greased cookie sheet (or use a silicone baking sheet or parchment paper). This recipe yields 9 good sized biscuits, or you could make 12 smaller ones (if making the smaller ones, use a rounded tablespoon to get the correct size). Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.

after adding the milk and stirring with a fork

dry ingredients with butter incorporated into it using the pastry blender

Leave a Reply

