salsa beans

Another side dish that I like to accompany the enchiladas is this one. It’s pretty basic, but I like it much better than plain black beans.  And if there are leftovers of both the beans and the Spanish rice, I’ll mix them together for lunch the next day. Just stir, heat, and add a spoon of sour cream and/or a sprinkle of shredded cheese. Yummy and filling.

##########

Salsa Beans

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup salsa (I use a spicy roasted chipotle salsa)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cilantro

Stir together all ingredients in sauce pan. Cover and bring to a boil. Stir well and reduce heat. Simmer at least 10 minutes.

To serve, top with a spoonful of sour cream, a small amount of shredded cheese and a sprinkle of cilantro, if desired.

Note: Depending on how many I’m serving, and whether or not I want leftovers, I often double the recipe.

Leave a Reply

