sour cream chicken enchiladas

My youngest son turned six years old this week. That means I have been making enchiladas for five years and ten months.

I know this because a friend brought dinner over to my family a week or two after my son was born. She made sour cream chicken enchiladas. We had never had them before and they were an instant hit with my husband, my oldest son, and myself. I kind of remember bothering her for the recipe. A lot actually. And often. That’s because I was being bothered by my husband and son to please please please get the recipe and make those again.

Not sure if she ever did send me her recipe — we lost touch soon after — but I do remember searching for recipes online and was able to come up with the following recipe after doing a bit of adjusting during those next two months. I now make this version of enchiladas every other week or so.

Because I believe it’s important for everyone to know how to cook, this was one of the recipes I taught my oldest son how to make before he headed off to college.  He was an eager learner!

##########

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

3 green onions, chopped
2-3 cups chopped cooked chicken (super convenient to use a rotisserie chicken)
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups shredded Colby & Monterey Jack or Mexican blend cheese, divided
1 cup salsa
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
1 teaspoon ground cumin
6-8 flour tortillas*
1 can enchilada sauce

Heat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, mix together green onions, chicken, sour cream, 1 cup of the cheese, salsa, cilantro and cumin.

Spoon a large scoop (about 1/2 cup) of the chicken mixture down center of each tortilla; roll up. Place seam sides down in 13×9-inch baking dish that has a light covering of the enchilada sauce on the bottom. Top with remaining enchilada sauce; cover.

Bake 30 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese. Bake uncovered an additional 5-10 minutes until cheese is melted.

Note: Can be assembled and refrigerated up to one day. Let sit out for 15 minutes prior to baking if refrigerated, then cook for an additional 15 minutes before topping with the final 1/2 cup of cheese.

Another note: I like to serve these with Spanish Rice. These together are one of my favorite meals!

* Can use corn tortillas if you wish to make this gluten-free. And from what I’ve learned while researching recipes, enchiladas are traditionally made with corn tortillas.

Here’s an updated picture of the enchiladas with the rice. YUM!

enchiladas

2 responses to “sour cream chicken enchiladas

Leave a Reply

