tzatziki for souvlaki

Let me start by saying I am not Greek. My apologies in advance to any Greek cooks who read this and are disappointed with my rendition of their classic dish.

Here’s the thing: The closest I ever got to Greek food was ordering souvlaki from our local pizzeria. I’ve never even tried a gyro. Once I had their souvlaki, I was hooked and wanted to eat that and only that and did not even care to try any of their other Greek dishes, though I’m sure they’re all delicious. So after ordering it a lot — like, oh, maybe 6000 times — I decided to save a little money by making it myself. But I acknowledge that I don’t do it authentically. I purchase a bottle of Greek marinade from my local grocery store. Hey, they do a great job with it! It ends up tasting just like the one from my local restaurant. One day soon, before the year is out, I will attempt to perfect a homemade version of the marinade. The ingredients in the marinade are simple: oil, lemon juice, oregano, onion and garlic. It shouldn’t be hard to make it just right.Stay tuned.

For now I’ll include the recipe for the tzatziki sauce that I recently started making. It’s so easy and delicious.

##########

Tzatziki Sauce

1 cup low-fat Greek yogurt

1 cucumber, seeded and finely chopped or grated

salt

pepper

1-3 cloves garlic, crushed or minced

Stir all together and let sit for at least 30 minutes, refrigerated, before serving.

~~~

When it’s time to make the souvlaki, on a warm pocketless pita I place the following:

grilled marinaded cubed pork tenderloin

onions (sliced and bathed in a little Italian salad dressing or oil and vinegar mixed with oregano, salt and pepper)

romaine lettuce

tomatoes

feta cheese

tzatziki sauce

Leave a Reply

