pork barbecue

We are lucky to have a great little family barbecue place just a couple miles down the road. Down an old country road, into the center of the old part of town. The building used to be a house or train station depot or general store, probably a hundred or so years ago, and has a lovely front porch with narrow wooden stairs leading up to the door. The people are so nice and the food is so good. If money were no object I’d gladly eat their food weekly. However money is an object.

That’s what got me thinking about making pork barbecue sandwiches at home. The closest I had ever come to making any kind of barbecue was slathering grilled chicken breasts with barbecue sauce from a jar. I was shocked when I found how simple it was to make homemade barbecue sauce. My pork barbecue sandwiches aren’t exactly like the ones the little house down the street produces — they use a smoker for their meats and put the sauce on afterward, and they’re professional barbequers (is that a word?). Well, I’m not picky about how it all goes together, I just enjoy eating it.

So I found a few recipes, combined them based on what sounded good, and then got cooking. And of course I ended up changing things a little here and there, as I do. After a few batches I settled on the following recipe, and it doesn’t make me miss the little place down the street much at all anymore. I wonder if they miss me?

##########

Crockpot BBQ

3-4 pounds boneless country pork spareribs

2 tablespoons canola oil

2 tablespoons butter

½ cup finely chopped onion

4 cloves garlic, crushed

1 cup water

1 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons cider vinegar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon dry mustard

1 tablespoon brown mustard

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

In a large frying pan, brown meat slowly in hot oil. When brown on all sides, place meat into crockpot set to HIGH.
Pour off fat from pan and add butter to remaining pan drippings.
Add onion and garlic and cook until onions are slightly brown.
Add remaining ingredients and simmer about 5-10 minutes for it to thicken.
Pour sauce over ribs, cover, and cook all day in crockpot.
Occasionally stir with a fork and when the meat breaks apart, it’s ready!

Coleslaw goes well with this… on the bun or on the side. That recipe will be posted tomorrow…. Stay tuned.

Note:  When I want barbecue sauce for chicken or for when I make barbecue chicken pizza, I whisk together the sauce ingredients above in a sauce pan and simmer until it thickens. I store it in an airtight container in the fridge to have it ready when I need it!

bbq and slaw

Leave a Reply

