Easter Bunny Cakes

Each Easter we make a bunny cake. It’s a tradition that started when I was a child. Sure, there were many years a bunny cake didn’t get made, such as when I was single, but once I had kids the tradition got started up again.

My favorite cake recipe to use when making our Easter bunny cake is this orange cake and we frost it with vanilla frosting. All the kids (yes, even my older kids!) have fun decorating the bunny with sprinkles and candies.

Here are some of the bunny cakes from the past few years:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are the photos to show how easy it is to make this bunny out of two round cakes.

Leave one of the round cakes as is, and cut the other as shown in this photo.

Leave one of the round cakes as is, and cut the other as shown in this photo.

Place the cake pieces as shown (you'll need a large platter or cookie sheet).

Place the cake pieces as shown (you’ll need a large platter or cookie sheet).

If you make one of these adorable bunny cakes, send me a picture … I’d love to see your bunny creation!

6 responses to “Easter Bunny Cakes

  1. Orange cake sounds nice and it is so clever how you make the ears and bow tie. My kids would love me so much if I made this with them! I like your slideshow. I just figured out how to make one other day and I want to use it more.

    • After posting this I remembered that my grandmother used to make a special Easter cake as well, but it was shaped like a lamb. I think we started making the bunny cakes because I don’t like coconut, and her lamb cake was covered in coconut. Love how a simple cake can bring back memories from decades ago!

Leave a Reply

