triple chocolate cake squares

It’s no surprise to those of you who know me or who have followed this blog for a while: I love chocolate. I also like cooking and baking from scratch — as few boxed and prepared ingredients as possible. But … when it comes to chocolate, I’ll bend the rules when I have to. And this recipe is perfect when I’m in a rule breaking mood.

This recipe came from the recipes collected for a wannabe cookbook I was in charge of putting together over a decade ago, at a volunteer organization I worked at. I have no idea who submitted it or where it originated from. And that cookbook never came about, though this recipe has been in my binder (and made often) since that time.

##########

Triple Chocolate Cake Squares

1 small box chocolate pudding mix (approximately 3.4 ounce size) — use the cook and serve type, NOT INSTANT

2 cups milk

1 box chocolate cake mix

1/2 cup chocolate chips + 1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts taste good in this) OR 1 cup chocolate chips

~

Heat oven to 350F.

In a large sauce pan, cook the pudding with the milk as directed on the pudding box.

start with milk in a saucepan

add pudding mix to milk

over medium heat, whisk pudding mix and milk together

once it starts boiling, remove from heat

Remove from heat immediately, and stir in the dry cake mix.

remove from heat and add cake mix to hot pudding

stir cake mix into pudding … do not use the whisk!

ready to put into the pan

Spread this combination into a greased  or silicone-lined 9×13-inch pan.

spread the mixture into the pan

Distribute chocolate chips (and nuts, if including those) on top of the pudding and cake mixture.

distribute chocolate chips on top

Bake at 350F for 20 to 25 minutes. Do not over bake.

hot out of the oven

COOL COMPLETELY.

Cut into squares and enjoy!

YUM!

*Note: When I first started making this recipe, I used the chocolate chips and nut combination, but now my youngest son has severe tree nut allergies, so I use only the chocolate chips. Today I made them with mini chips, though regular size chips work well too.

6 responses to “triple chocolate cake squares

  1. Just had dinner, now for something sweet. Wish we were near your house these would be a great chocolate dessert. Like it is very simple to make. You are generous with the Chocolate chips. ASM

Leave a Reply

